Oatmeal Scotchies

I’ve been out of commission in the kitchen for the last two weeks or so because of finals. I will not bore you with the details of those two weeks or with a rant about how I hate finals with the fury of a thousand fires and would definitely punch the embodied form of finals in the face if there were such a thing. Suffice it to say I am glad that crap is over. Plus I managed to turn two out of three projects in on time this year, which (sadly) is probably the best my track record has been for a very, very long time. Today, after laying around and watching a bunch of crappy tv, I finally got around to cleaning up the post-apocalyptic scene that was our kitchen. And then I promptly messed it all up by making some post-finals cookies.

But first, some evidence of our record-breaking snowfall this month. I believe these were taken shortly after the end of our 90 or so straight hours of snow.

Our snowy street

buried car

Kids Sledding

Now back to the cookies. I have a deep, deep love for oatmeal cookies. There are a lot of people who do not feel the same way. As a kid, I assumed these people really just hated raisins and were too stupid to recognize that oatmeal cookies could be made with other wonderful things like chocolate chips. Now, I’m more inclined to think it has to do with texture preferences. I will eat a crispy cookie, but in the grand scheme of things, I think they kind of suck unless you have something good to dunk them in. I prefer my cookies to be of the chewy variety, and oatmeal almost always guarantees a chewy result. Thus, I love oatmeal cookies. As add-ins go, dried fruit and nuts are okay, chocolate is a million times better, and today I’ve discovered that butterscotch chips are also a big win. Despite the fact that the recipe is called “oatmeal scotchies,” which smacks of cutesy-ness in a most unpleasant way, these cookies are definitely a new favorite. Easy to make, homey, and oh so good.

Oatmeal Scotchies

On the subject of chewy cookies, I was flipping through a book at the bookstore the other day called Chewy Gooey Crispy Crunchy Melt-In-Your-Mouth Cookies. All the recipes are arranged by texture. Brilliant! Why didn’t someone think to do this sooner? And I’ve read some good reviews to boot. This book is going on the wish list, especially since the chewy cookie recipes come first.

Scotchies 2

Now that finals are over, I’ve been making big plans for all of the things I would like to get done over break, none of which include anything remotely school related. I’m a big list maker, so I’ve been compiling lists of all kinds of things–lists of things to clean, lists of things to read, lists of things watch. One of the many lists I’ve come up with is a list of ten things I want to make before the semester starts again:

  1. Bagels
  2. Salted Caramels
  3. Cinnamon rolls
  4. Peanut Butter fudge
  5. Cornmeal biscuits
  6. Biscotti
  7. Beer bread
  8. Crackers
  9. Cranberry Orange scones
  10. Soft pretzels

Blog, I expect you to hold me to this list. I’ve got until January 16th to whip all these up. Think I can do it?

Oatmeal Scotchies

I used the recipe on the back of the Tollhouse Butterscotch Chips bag, but I’ve seen the same recipe posted all over the place. These had a tendency to stick like crazy-pants when the butterscotch chips came in contact with the pan. It might be worth laying down some parchment before you scoop these out.

  • 1 1/4 c flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 c butter, softened
  • 3/4 c granulated sugar
  • 3/4 c brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3 c oats
  • 11 oz bag of butterscotch chips
  1. Stir together flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. In a separate large bowl, beat together the butter and sugars until well combined. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Gradually beat in the flour mixture until combined. Stir in the oats and the chips.
  2. Drop cookie dough by the spoonful onto an ungreased baking sheet. Bake for 7-8 minutes in a 375 degree oven. Allow the cookies to cool on a wire rack and then enjoy!
6 thoughts on “Oatmeal Scotchies

  1. That’s some serious snow, sister! And I’m writing that from Buffalo. Crazy! I love the cars with their snow hats, but that snow hat is a bit too far.

    You can definitely accomplish your list. I have no doubts about it.

  2. Pingback: The Chewy « Sweet Alchemy

  3. Pingback: Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies | Sweet Alchemy

Leave a Reply

