Raspberry-Topped Muffins

I like to listen to music while I’m in the kitchen and while I’m working on my laptop. Sometimes, I listen to my iTunes, but a lot of the time I listen to Pandora. I have a handful of very different stations I’ve set up, and for the past week each station has started playing Fleetwood Mac’s “Landslide” and/or “Rhiannon” several times a day. It’s getting a little eerie.

I can hear you calling to me, Stevie Nicks. And yes, I will be your best friend. Next time, feel free to just call.

(Seriously, though. Make sure you watch that video all the way through, both for Stevie Nicks’ intense performance and for the retro videography.)

Anyway, the creative non-fiction class I started earlier this month is over now. On our second-to-last day, I made some raspberry topped lemon muffins to share at our break. I found the recipe through Smitten Kitchen, and it’s one that I’ve made before to share with friends on a road trip to Louisville for a conference. It’s a basic buttermilk vanilla muffin flavored with lemon sugar (that is, lemon zest mashed into a little bit of sugar) and then topped with a couple of raspberries. It’s enough flavor to keep the muffins interesting without it being the kind of taste explosion that a lot of people don’t care for at breakfast. The muffins are really delicious, and I like this recipe precisely because it’s not your typical struesel-topped blueberry muffin. Believe me when I say that I don’t have anything against blueberry muffins–far from it. But it’s nice to have something a little different. Plus, these muffins are particularly nice for these 80Ā° May days since they taste a whole lot like summer.

raspberry topped muffin

You’ll have to excuse this muffin for being a little . . . well . . . homely. I’m not sure why it’s raspberries are so sunken in or why it’s having trouble keeping it’s little muffin clothes on. But this is the only muffin that made it back with me from class and so it was the only muffin I was able to photograph since I forgot to take pictures before I went to class. You should just trust that even in its ugliness, it was a very delicious little muffin.

The striped muffin liner is from a whole gaggle of muffin liners my friend Abby collected for me after I blogged awhile back about running out of them. Now I have a ton, and a whole host of colors and patterns to choose from. It really does feel like dressing my baked goods up. I see many (hopefully prettier) muffins in my future . . .

Just for fun, here’s what I listened to while I was whipping these babies up:

  1. Heart, Alone
  2. Blondie, Call Me
  3. The Bangles, Walk Like an Egyptian
  4. Joan Jett, Do You Wanna Touch Me? (Oh Yeah)
  5. The Go-Go’s, We Got the Beat
  6. Madonna, Material Girl
  7. The Runaways, Rock and Roll
  8. Joan Jett, I Love Rock ‘N’ Roll
  9. Billy Idol, Rebel Yell
  10. Patty Smyth, Goodbye to You

As I write this, Edge of Seventeen just started playing. Perhaps its time for me to take a Gypsy 83-style Stevie Nicks pilgrimage?

What are you listening to this weekend as we kick-off the unofficial start of summer?

Raspberry-Topped Lemon Muffins (from Smitten Kitchen)

Note: This recipe is supposed to make 14 muffins, but I decided to just divide the batter evenly among one muffin tin to make an even dozen. I was able to top my muffins with a 1/2 pint of raspberries and still had a few leftover. But if you want to put more raspberries on the top or make more than a dozen muffins, you might need another 1/2 pint.

  • 1 c sugar, plus 2 tbsp for the lemon sugar
  • Grated lemon peel from 2 large lemons
  • 2 c all purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 c unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 c buttermilk
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 – 1 pint raspberries
  1. Preheat the oven to 375Ā° F and line 12 or 14 (see note above) muffin cups with paper liners.
  2. Mash the 2 tbsp of sugar and lemon zest together in a small bowl until well-combined. Set aside.
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt.
  4. Using an electric mixer, cream together the butter and remaining 1 c sugar. Beat in egg. Add buttermilk, then vanilla, and then the lemon sugar, mixing after each addition until combined. Beat in the flour mixture.
  5. Divide the batter among the muffin cups and top each with 3-4 raspberries. (I used three berries on the top of each muffin.) Bake 30-35 minutes until lightly browned on top and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.
3 thoughts on “Raspberry-Topped Muffins

  1. If you’re looking for a video that will leave you a changed person, I recommend: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sRYNYb30nxU

    Do you ever fear that Pandora knows more about you than you know about yourself? Or is this only my personal paranoia?

    And YUM! You know I can’t leave a comment on your blog without that word.

    • My life has, indeed, been changed by this video. I’ve actually seen The Darkness live in Milwaukee. Seriously one of the best shows I’ve ever been to. There were zebra-striped spandex and a fringed unitard involved. EPIC.

Leave a Reply

