Jalie 2921

I finished this project a few months ago—either at the end of February or the beginning of March—but it’s clearly taken me a long time to actually get pictures of it. I think part of the reason it took me so long to take photos was because I wasn’t sure how I felt about the style. Honestly, I’m still not completely convinced that this is a style I like on me.

Jalie 2921

(Clearly I have given up on smiling in blog pictures. It’s awkward enough to take modeled shots of the stuff I make. I’m not going to make things more complicated by fighting my resting bitch face.)

The pattern is Jalie 2921, which was very easy to make. I like working with Jalie patterns because so far I’ve found that they are relatively simple to fit to my body. I made this up using some Dakota Stretch Rayon Jersey from Fabric.com that is very soft and drapey, but that has nice recovery so it doesn’t bag out like some rayon jerseys. It’s actually the same base as the fabric I used for my Faded Stripes top, and I just ordered another length of this fabric in a different color.

Jalie 2921 As far as size goes, I started with the size appropriate for my high bust—AA—then blended out two sizes at the armscye to size CC and then blended out to size DD for the hip. I also experimented with doing a length-only FBA, where you add length just to the front piece and then ease the excess length into the back at bust level. It worked okay for this top, and definitely gave me the extra fabric that I need at the front, but I don’t know that I would do it again. I found the easing a bit tricky and I feel like I have to sort of “arrange” the shirt when I first put it on or I end up with weird wrinkles from the bust up.

Jalie 2921

Like I said, I’m still not completely sold on this style. It’s a style that I like in general and like when I see it on other people, but I’m just not sure how I feel about it on me. I know that I definitely will not be tying the scarf part into a bow—I hated the way that it looked on me. I guess I feel like maybe the scarf front is a bit girly or a bit too retro for me? When I first finished it, I thought: okay, maybe this will grow on me. And overtime, that feeling transformed into: ugh, what was I thinking? Why did I make this? But then I tried it on for Aidan and he liked it, and that’s brought me back to feeling like it might grow on me. To be fair, I haven’t really worn this out and about since I finished teaching in April and I default to ultra-casual in my day-to-day. So this won’t get the full test run until I start teaching again in the fall, when I’ll actually need to wear it because my professional wardrobe is shamefully small.

feminist scholar

Maybe if I just try to channel Kathleen Hanna as feminist scholar, then I’ll really start to love it. We’ll see.

11 thoughts on “Jalie 2921

  1. That looks great on you – the front bow adds design interest to an otherwise basic tee. I like Jalie patterns, too. I’ve had good luck with the ones I tried a couple of years ago.

    • Thanks! My next Jalie effort is going to be one of their trouser patterns, and I’m hopeful that it will be a better starting point fit-wise than many pants patterns. It seems like people pretty consistently get good results from their patterns.

  2. The last photo is everything! I need this in my office. I was going to ask if you wore this for job interviews because it seems perfect for that, to me. Did you wear a suit? Maybe you can do a blog post about your interview clothes? I had a mini crisis about interview clothes, but when I got the suit and put it on I felt very “official.” I refused to wear a button-down shirt with it since I was paranoid about gaping. This shirt would have been perfect for me with my grey interview suit. And then for evening events I’d take off the jacket and still be wearing an interesting, comfortable shirt. To me this shirt looks just a tiny bit corporate so it has that professional edge. One of my problems with women’s fashion is that the clothing options either look like 1. I’m going to the republican national convention/hosting the nightly news or 2. I wish I were still 18. I think it’s very challenging to find somewhat interesting professional clothes. All the more reason to make your own! Like the fox shirt is a great example because it would go with all the grey, black, and denim I wear for work (my cardigan + skirt + boots uniform). This shirt would probably be really cool in a print, I bet. Anyway, apparently I have a lot to say about this shirt. Can you tell I’m supposed to be writing an article? Anyway, bravo you!

    • I took that last photo just for you! It is really hard to find interesting professional clothes, which is giving me a bit of an ongoing panic as I try to get my closet ready for full-time teaching. A lot off-the-rack clothes give me an existential crisis and make me feel like a fraud. Nothing makes me more aware of my non-normative performance of femininity that trying to find something to wear for a professional or formal event. Shoes are another impossible category. Why is there so little middle ground between “heels for everyone!” and “suitable for nuns”?

      I had intended to wear this for interviews, but let it fall by the wayside when I was feeling mega-stressed. But I agree that it would have been excellent for those purposes. I did a suit-like thing by combining black pants and a more casual, un-tailored jacket. When we went shopping for interview clothes, Aidan got really stressed out by the selection and said, “Why does everything look like clown clothes?” I think a blog post about my interview clothes is a good idea–I remember looking around for ideas and not finding anything particularly helpful. It will give me something to do while I sit in an empty apartment waiting for all of our stuff to arrive.

      • So you’re not going to buy some Dankso clogs like every English professor ever? 🙂 I will look forward to this interview clothing blog post. As you know I’m a huge fan of the blazer so maybe you’ll find some of those. Love the blazer pockets and how it ties an outfit together. Also, I find boots to be essential footwear. For my work clothes I have found these challenges:
        1. Wearing stuff that a winter coat will fit over for the really cold months, as I generally have to walk across campus to teach. Same for shoes.
        2. Figuring out how formal/casual the clothing climate is in my dept, etc. As a young professor people may mistake you for a student, which has benefits/drawbacks. Also, I wonder if many of your students will be older than you.
        3. I had a third one but now I can’t remember it…

        There’s some good stuff on Hook and Eye about professor clothes:
        http://www.hookandeye.ca/search/label/clothes

  3. Pingback: Curvy Sewn: Your Creations for May

Leave a Reply

