Fall Sew-Alongs: FESA and the Style Arc Misty Sew-Along

Sew-alongs usually don’t appeal to me, but I’ve come across two going on this fall that seem like fun. The first sew-along I’ve jumped in on is the Style Arc sew-along  hosted by Alicia at Pandora Sews Plus Size Clothes, and we’ll be making the Misty Stretch Pull-On Jeans.

The sew-along officially starts on Octobre 1st. My first impulse was to make these up in black denim, but I already have black jeans to I ended up ordering some gray denim from Girl Charlee. I even lucked out and ended up winning a give-away that Alicia hosted on her blog for her first blogging anniversary, so I won a generous prize pack with the pattern, a gift card from Mood, and some needles and Gutermann topstitching thread to help me with this project. Very exciting.

I’m also planning to participate in the Fall Essentials Sew-Along, which is hosted by Rhinestones & Telephones. I’ve actually lurked this sew-along for a couple of years now, and it was a huge dose of inspiration for me when I was still trying to push myself to get into sewing garments. What I find particularly appealing about FESA is that there are so many possibilities, you can really make whatever suits you. Plus, it’s knitting-friendly, which is a huge bonus for me. There are a couple of different categories my plans fit into.

Fashionable Foundations for Frosty Weather

In addition to making the Misty Jeans, I’m also planning to make the Style Arc Jasmine Pants in some stretch twill that I have in the stash. I’m going to prioritize making a black pair since I kind of hate my current black work pants, but I’ve also got some gray twill that I might use.

Chic Chemises for Cool Climates

Faded Stripes (Ottobre 02/2015), Till Dawn (Ottobre 02/2014) and Solid Green (Ottobre 02/2014)

Faded Stripes (Ottobre 02/2015), Till Dawn (Ottobre 02/2014) and Solid Green (Ottobre 02/2014)

While these patterns don’t really say “fall” (in fact, they are all from Spring/Summer issues of Ottobre Woman), I need some shirts to wear with cardigans. My fall teaching uniform is basically pants/shirt/cardigan, so these shirts will definitely expand my workwear possibilities. I’ve got a selection of rayon jerseys in the stash that I’m planning to use.

I’ve been wearing out cardigans faster than I’ve been replacing them, so I could also use a few more top layers. I’ve got a black ponte I’m planning to use for the Morris Blazer, and a couple of sweater knits that I plan to use for the cardigans.

I’ve been meaning to make this pattern since it came out–I even printed it out and assembled the sheets a few months ago. But I haven’t actually made it yet because I kept waffling on what fabric to use. Now I’ve got three cuts of rayon jersey that I think are all good candidates, so I’m hoping to make at least two versions of this shirt.

Hannah Fettig's Featherweight and Gudrun Johnston's Little Wave

Hannah Fettig’s Featherweight and Gudrun Johnston’s Little Wave

I’m also planning to finish up my Little Wave and Featherweight cardigans, which are both in progress.

Baby, It’s Cold Outside

Hoodies

Kelopuu Hoodie (Ottobre 05/2014) and Get Moving Hoodie (Ottobre 05/2015)

I think I might be stretching the definition of this category, but these seem jacket-like to me. I’ve got some cotton interlock that I’m planning to use for the Get Moving Hoodie. I’ve been walking recently, and a lighter layer will be nice for those cooler, but not quite cold fall days. The asymmetrical hoodie is another piece that I keep meaning to make, but haven’t gotten around to yet. I’ve got some black sweatshirting that I plan to use to make it.

Melanie Berg’s Sunwalker

Scarves are another big part of my fall teaching wear. I just bought some Knit Picks Gloss in Blackberry that I’m going to use to make Sunwalker. I plan to make the scarf a bit smaller than intended in the pattern to make it a bit more wearable for me.

So those are basically my fall sewing and knitting plans. Will I finish all of them? Of course not! Or, at least not by the time FESA officially ends in mid-November. But I think I can at least make a decent dent and, fingers crossed, have a significantly improved teaching wardrobe at the end of it.

4 thoughts on “Fall Sew-Alongs: FESA and the Style Arc Misty Sew-Along

  1. Love your plans! I’ll also be joining in on the Misty Jeans Sewalong. Congrats on your lovely prize win! 🙂 I love the Jasmine pants. If the Misty Jeans go well (my first pair of pants), I think I will be trying out that pattern, too. Can’t wait to see these all made up!

  2. I’ll be joining in on the Misty sewalong, as well. I have the Jasmine pant pattern, although that one isn’t in my immediate sewing plans. I have just about all of the same cardigans as you do in my fall sewing plans, as well. With out Misties and our Cabernet and Jenna cardis, we can be total twinsies! 😛

  3. Pingback: Another Faded Stripes Tee | Sweet Alchemy

Leave a Reply

