Another Onyx Shirt and Me-Made May

The last time I posted was during my Spring Break. I finished three sewing projects that week–my Black Fog shirt, this Paprika Onyx Shirt, and a disappointing pair of pants that I’ll blog about next. It’s taken me a month to get around to blogging the second two projects because I got hit with end-of-the-semester panic as soon as Spring Break ended. But now my classes are over, my grading is nearly done, and I am very close to being able to say that I survived my first year as an assistant professor.

Paprika Onyx Shirt

I’ve made this pattern once before last summer. I wore my black version a lot last summer and it’s been back in rotation this spring, at least on our warmer days. I decided before cutting out my second version that the fit on the original was good enough to go ahead and use the same pattern pieces, unaltered. While that version was a good enough base for cutting, I stupidly skipped a basted fitting. I constructed the whole thing, using french seams at the sides and even hemming the bottom, before trying it on and realizing that the bust darts were a bit too low and the body was too loose. I left the darts as is but ended up serging off those time-consuming french seams so that I could remove ~1.5″ of width from the body. It’s still a bit looser than I’d like, but it’s comfortable and wearable so I’m calling it good enough.

Paprika Onyx Shirt

The fabric was listed as a cotton voile online, although it’s heavier and has more body than I think is typical of voile. Honestly, it reminds me more of chambray, especially since it gets it’s color from black and hot pink threads that have been woven together with a bit of a slub texture. I really like this fabric and decided to keep this shirt a bit more minimalist by omitting the sleeve tabs. To hold the sleeve cuffs in place, I just tacked them down with a few hand stitches. We’ll see how they hold up in the wash.

IMG_7718

I’ve decided I’m going to participate in Me-Made May this year. I’ve been kind of waffling about whether to make a pledge or not since I already wear my handmade stuff pretty consistently and make things that fit well into my life so I’m not sure what I might gain. But, for the sake of fun and curiosity, I’d figure I’d give it a go and see what happens. Here’s my pledge:

mmmay16final

I, Anna of sweetalchemy.wordpress.com, sign up as a participant of Me Made May ’16. I will wear at least one item of handmade clothing a day during the month of May. I will also make time to mend and/or alter at least 5 of my existing handmade garments in an effort to make them more wearable.

Paprika Onyx Shirt

We’re going to California for a week in the middle of the month, so that will add a bit of challenge to the plan of wearing at least one handmade garment a day. I’ll keep track of what I wear on a daily basis for myself, but I won’t be taking daily photos. I might take the occasional pic, but my plan right now is just to post one or two overview posts to reflect on how my pledge goes and what I learn/gain from the experience. I’m glad to have this Onyx Shirt done before the beginning of May–it’s sure to get worn this coming month.

2 thoughts on “Another Onyx Shirt and Me-Made May

  1. Pingback: Socks, Scarves, and Kitties | Sweet Alchemy

  2. Pingback: My Clothes Are So F****** Boring: Me Made May 2016 Recap | Sweet Alchemy

Leave a Reply

