April Sewing Plans

 

My plan for this month’s Make a Garment a Month challenge is to try my hand at New Look 6104. I’m planning to make view A (the version the model is wearing), although I’m going to swap out the ruffle on the front with the pin tucks from versions C and D. Ruffles just aren’t my speed. The fabric I’m using is a light-weight chambray I ordered from Fabric.com several months ago. This pattern will definitely stretch my skills. I haven’t fitted a woven garment before. Nor have I sewn pin tucks, attached bias binding, or worked button holes. So, this could be an epic disaster. But one person on Pattern Review made this up as her first-ever garment with great results, so I’m feeling optimistic. (Okay, optimistic might be a strong word. I’m at least not feeling doomed from the get-go, so that’s something.) I’ll probably start working on my pattern alterations this weekend.

The Sew Obsessed group on Ravelry has a year-long sewalong in progress and this month, people are making short-sleeve woven shirts. Plus, this year’s Spring Top Sewalong hosted by Made By Rae starts next week, so I’ll be sort of triple-dipping with this project. After the success of my Day-to-Night Drape Top, I also have the Brigitte Basic Tee pattern on my short list of projects to make, so I should be able to get a couple more shirts made up before the end of the Spring Top Sewalong. I’ve got some gray rayon-Spandex jersey on hand already, but I also have a fabric order in route with some more jersey blends destined to become some basic T-shirts.

This crazy horse print is piece de resistance of my incoming fabric order. I can’t get enough of it. It reminds me of my 14-year-old sister/Tina Belcher, so I ordered it as soon as it popped up on Girl Charlee’s Pinterest page. I’m planning to use this fabric and another print  to make my two youngest sisters some summer PJs. Oh, and I’ve got a stack of towels sitting in my sewing area that I’m hoping to turn in wearable items for a couple other little lovelies. I haven’t been knitting recently, so I’ve instead been spending the time I would be knitting planning a million sewing projects. I’m going to need to get serious about the sewing if I have any chance of keeping up with all my plans. What are your spring crafting plans?

 

9 thoughts on “April Sewing Plans

  1. Tina Belcher! Love her. Um…my spring crafting plans are to finish the wool scarves my mom and sister picked out yarn for two years ago as well as finish the blanket for my niece who was born this past November. At least the blanket is cotton… I might try to make Oscar a larger Wallaby since the one you make him will inevitably be too small eventually (but not yet!). My other spring crafting plans are to read this blog and continue to be in awe of your talents as well as interact via multiple forms of social media with you about crafting.

  2. I bet you will do great with this pattern.. and doing new things., will all work out.. Love the horse print fabric. so cute!!!
    I have 4 granddaughters so I have spent the last few weeks making Easter dresses. I cut out my last one tonight.. Then, I want to make myself some summer tops..Happy sewing. and Best wishes with your blouse.

  3. Pingback: Sewing for Knitting: DPN Case and Zippered Notions Pouch | Sweet Alchemy

  4. Pingback: A Failed Project and Other Crafting Woes | Sweet Alchemy

  5. Pingback: May MAGAM Plan | Sweet Alchemy

Leave a comment